Chocolate Lava Cakes

Over the past few days, I’ve been posting recipes from the Valentine’s Dinner my husband and I enjoyed together!  So far, I’ve posted recipes for Parmesan Orzo Pasta, BLT Stuffed Tomatoes, and Lobster Colorado.  All of which were outstanding, and unbelievably delicious.  However, no Valentine’s Dinner is complete without the all important chocolate dessert.  Thus, today’s post of Chocolate Lava Cakes is the final installment from our Valentine’s Menu recipes.

MoltenLava Cake 1

MoltenLava Cake 2 MoltenLava Cake 3 MoltenLava Cake 4 MoltenLava Cake 5

Go grab a napkin…you’ve been drooling on your keyboard. But seriously, though, just look at those pictures!  Doesn’t that look like heaven on a plate?!  Ya know if…heaven were food?

This dessert just screams elegance and decadence and luxury all rolled up in one gooey chocolate package.  Anytime I go to a restaurant, and the words “molten” “chocolate” or “lava” appear in any combination on the dessert menu, I’m hooked.  Does it matter if I’ve already eaten to the point of being fully satisfied?  No.  Because this isn’t just any dessert we’re talking about here…this is molten chocolate baked inside of a cake!

Now here’s the part you won’t believe (and neither did I)…this is actually VERY VERY easy to make!  It’s quite possibly just about as easy as cake from a box.  And WAY better.  All together, this took about 5 minutes to prep and then 12 minutes to bake in the oven.  It’s so simple and deliciously rich, how can you not try this recipe?

Chocolate Lava Cakes

Source:  Sugar for the Brain

Serves: 4 individual cakes

Ingredients:
8 oz Bittersweet chocolate
8 tablespoons butter (1 stick) plus more for ramekins
3 eggs
1/2 cup granulated sugar (I put 1/4 cup of vanilla sugar and 1/4 cup normal sugar)
1/2 cup flour
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Generously butter four 6-ounce ramekins.  Place the prepared ramekins on a baking sheet and set aside.

Melt the chocolates and butter in a double boiler. (If you don’t have a double boiler, put the chocolate and butter in a microwave safe dish and microwave in 30 second bursts until melted.)

With an electric mixer, beat the eggs and sugar until pale, about two minutes (don’t overbeat!  If you do, the inside will be more solid and less molten-y). Stir in the vanilla.

Stir the chocolate into the egg mixture and then add the flour; mix well.

Divide the batter among the prepared ramekins and bake for 12 to 15 minutes, the edges should be firm and set but the center will still look a little wet.

You can serve them in the ramekins or run a knife around the edges to loosen and invert onto dessert plates.

38 thoughts on “Chocolate Lava Cakes

  1. Pingback: Lobster Colorado « normalcooking

  2. Pingback: BLT Stuffed Tomatoes « normalcooking

  3. Pingback: Parmesan Orzo Pasta « normalcooking

  4. Haha, “Go grab a napkin…you’ve been drooling on your keyboard.” Thanks for the advice, I’ll go get one now. 😉 WOW! They look absolutely delish!!!!! Send me a piece!! 🙂 The last picture makes my mouth water…

  5. I would have never thought they were so simple to make! And that is such a great way for me to use my ramekins! I tend to only use them for mini lemon soufflés (personal favorite), but these look absolutely delicious.

  6. Looks great Lindsay. Strawberries and chocolate go well together. Great recipe . Thanks for sharing.

    Your invited to view, Savor the Food.

    Thanks for your time and sharing your Blog with Us. 🙂

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    • Thank you so much! Who knew taking good pictures could be so difficult?! I’m looking forward to when the days get longer again so that there will be some natural lighting on my pictures. In the wintertime, all my pictures are so dark!

  7. Gorgeous and scrumptious! And I love the individualization of having your own lava cake. The chocolate inside looks incredible!!

    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog your link on my reblog page?

  8. Pingback: Parmesan Orzo Pasta | Normal Cooking

Leave a Reply

