Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken 1 Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken 2 Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken 3

At first glance, this just looks like regular ol’ chicken with a tasty coating of melted mozzarella on top.  However, lying inconspicuously below the blanket of cheese, lies the key ingredient…BACON!  Yep you heard me.  I’d had honey mustard chicken before, and I’d had mozzarella chicken before…but until this lil creation, I’d never had chicken that incorporated all these delicious things AND BACON.  It’s almost too good to be true…almost.

So in addition to being delicious, this chicken is also really, really easy to make!  Drizzle with mustard and honey, bake, top with bacon and cheese, then bake a few more minutes.  Done!  See? Isn’t that easy?  My only problem with this recipe was getting the bacon cooked through.  We had thick-sliced so that could very well be the problem.  However, even if you use the regular thickness, it still seems like it would need more time to cook thoroughly.  The recipe says to bake the bacon-topped chicken for 10 minutes at 375, and at the end of that time, the bacon is supposed to be crisp.  Uh, mine was still totally pink.  So I had to bake it some more and then eventually broil it to get it edible.  It all turned out great in the end, but I think next time I’ll pre-cook the bacon just a tad…not completely, but enough to get it started before putting it on the chicken so it can crispen up in the oven.  Maybe the non-thick bacon would have been fine, but I doubt it.  Let me know what works for you!  

Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Printer Friendly Version

Source: All Recipes

Serves: 4

Ingredients:
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
3/4 c honey
1/2 c mustard
lemon pepper, to taste
4 slices of bacon, cut in half (you also might want to pre-cook it just a little so that it can get completely done and crispy in the oven.)
1 c shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

  • Place the chicken breasts in a baking dish, and drizzle evenly with honey and mustard. Sprinkle with lemon pepper.

Bake chicken 25 minutes in the preheated oven.

Top each breast with 2 bacon slice halves, and sprinkle evenly with cheese. Continue baking 10 minutes, or until chicken juices run clear, bacon is crisp, and cheese is bubbly.

14 thoughts on “Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

  1. This recipe sounds delicious something a little different for a change ! Me myself I would use turkey bacon since I’m on the weight watchers diet and a low fat mozzarella cheese !!! Sounds like something my family would definitely like !!! Thanks Lindsay !!!! Susan

    • If you like turkey bacon, then go for it! I’m all for cutting calories where I can, but bacon is one thing where I just have to have the real deal. The low fat mozzarella however, I can definitely do!

  2. Pingback: WIAW – Week 47 | For The Sake of Cake

  3. This is great and it would be greater with our italian mozzarella from Apulia! You can come here to cook your wonderful recipes! It is a very good idea, isn’t it??

    🙂

    italiancookingholiday.blogspot.it

Leave a comment