Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Ok let me start off by saying, I know this is not a great picture.  I made this dish for a little get-together with our Sunday School class today, and by the time I was able to take a picture, this was ALL that was left of it.  So even though the picture is less than impressive, at least that means that everyone enjoyed it.

This dish is the perfect Summer treat that’s both sweet and salty and is characterized as both a dessert and a side dish: Strawberry Pretzel Salad.

I remember the first time I ever had this.  It was at a Christmas pot-luck dinner when I was young (I don’t know how old, but still in elementary school).  I was confused because this obviously dessert-looking dish wasn’t sitting with the desserts, but with the side dishes.  I asked my mom about its misplacement, and she told me that it’s a side dish because it’s like a SALAD.  My world turned upside down.  A SALAD?!  It was like a free pass to eat dessert before the rest of my meal.  I of course loaded it up onto my plate feeling like I had just gotten away with something huge.

So now, all these years later, little has changed.  Call it a side dish if you want, but it’s certainly sweet enough to be a dessert.  If you love the combination of salty and sweet, then you will absolutely love this.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Printer Friendly Version

Source:  food.com

Serves: 12

Ingredients:
2 cups crushed pretzels
3/4 cup butter, melted
3 tablespoons white sugar
1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
1 cup white sugar
1 (8 ounce) carton frozen whipped topping, thawed
2 (3 ounce) packages strawberry gelatin
2 cups boiling water
2 (10 ounce) packages frozen strawberries (They need to be frozen.  Fresh strawberries contain an enzyme that breaks down the jello so it won’t ever firm up.)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400°F.

Stir together crushed pretzels, melted butter and 3 tablespoons white sugar; mix well and press mixture into bottom of 9×13-inch baking dish.  Bake 8-10 minutes, until set; set aside to cool.

In a large mixing bowl cream together cream cheese and white sugar.  Fold in whipped topping.  Spread mixture onto cooled crust.

Dissolve gelatin in boiling water.  Stir in frozen strawberries and allow to set briefly (about 5 minutes).  When mixture is about the consistency of egg whites, pour and spread over cream cheese layer.  (Keep an eye on it because if it sets too much it will be chunky and won’t pour well onto the cream cheese layer.)

Refrigerate until set.

19 thoughts on “Strawberry Pretzel Salad

  1. Pingback: Peach Cheesecake « normalcooking

  2. This sounds yummy. However, I would like to point out that fresh strawberries will not prevent the gelatin from setting – I have been using the combination in recipes for years. It is fresh pineapple that contains the enzyme you are referring to.

  3. I use fresh strawberries when I make this and have never had a problem. My recipe calls for 1/4 of chopped pecans with the pretzels but I am going to try without as your recipe calls for.

    • This recipe is a Family favorite in my home. I never thought about putting chopped almonds in the crust, I will have to try this out – Thanks.

  4. Just as an FYI – strawberries are okay. You cannot add pineapple, guava, mango, or kiwi to jello because of the enzymes, but strawberries are just fine!

  5. I used to make this when I lived in Oklahoma, and we loved it!! We live in the Philippines now and I can’t get fresh OR frozen strawberries. I occasionally find strawberry pie filling (imported and so expensive!)…how do you think this could be used? Think I would need to just rinse the strawberries?

    • Oh goodness, that is a predicament! You might try using the pie filling instead of the jello. Just spread the filling on top of the cream cheese mixture and then refrigerate. I honestly don’t know how that would turn out, but that’s my best guess! Let me know how it goes!

  6. This is for Marie: I have a jello recipe that uses blueberry pie filling in one of the layers, and you just mix it in with the jello. Just use a little less cold water. I’d skip the extra sugar, too, since the pie filling will already be sweet. Hope this helps.

Leave a comment