Slow Cooker Bacon Ranch Chicken Pasta

Ok so if I told you I ate bacon ranch chicken pasta last night, you might think, “geez how are you not the size of a cow?”  Or, “I wish I could eat unhealthy food like that and not get fat.”  Or maybe even, “eeewww that sounds like a heart attack waiting to happen!”  Because let’s face it, bacon and ranch are two of the most unhealthy food items out there.  (Which is really a shame since they’re so delicious and like my favorite things to eat.)

But what if I told you that this was HEALTHY?!  Would you believe me?  You should.  Because it only has 456 calories, 61 carbs, and 5 fat grams.  It doesn’t get much better than that folks!  Eating something that tastes oh-so-bad for you and knowing that it’s not…that’s just the best feeling.  Now granted, mine was slightly more unhealthy than the original recipe (and the nutrition facts above are for the original recipe).  The only difference is that I couldn’t find fat free sour cream so I just had to use reduced fat sour cream.  And the other difference is that I used real bacon instead of turkey bacon because I think turkey bacon is disgusting.  I just made sure to wipe the grease off really well.  And,  next time, instead of cooking bacon slices, I think I’ll just buy some bacon pieces to throw in there once it’s all done in the crock pot.  I think the bacon would stay crisper that way, and is still less fattening that cooking the slices.

In addition to being delicious and healthy, it’s a crock pot meal, which means it’s incredibly easy!  Just throw everything in, turn it on and let it go.  Awesome.

Slow Cooker Bacon Ranch Chicken Pasta 

Printer Friendly Version

Source:  Healthified Kitchen

Serves: 4

Ingredients:
2 butterball turkey bacon strips, cooked and shredded (next time I’ll try omitting the bacon strips and then just add bacon pieces once it’s cooked in the crock pot.  Maybe that way the bacon will be crunchier)
1 tsp minced garlic
1 package ranch dressing mix
1 10.75 oz can condensed cream of chicken soup (98% fat free)
1 cup fat-free sour cream
4 chicken breasts, frozen or defrosted/raw
8 oz. pasta (I used penne), cooked

Directions:
Combine the first five ingredients.

Place frozen or defrosted/raw chicken in slowcooker sprayed with nonstick cooking spray and pour sauce over the top (do NOT include water like the can mentions).

Cook on high for 3.5 hours (Mine only needed 3 hours and my chicken was even frozen). Shred chicken with two forks. Serve chicken over pasta.

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Bacon Ranch Chicken Pasta

    • My crockpot is 6.5 quarts, and it still had PLENTY of room after adding all the ingredients. So as long as your crockpot isn’t too much smaller than that, I definitely think it can be doubled!

Leave a comment