Bacon Wrapped Steak with Red Wine Mushroom Gravy

Ok so I know the title is long, but I don’t really know what else to call it!  This dish is a very tasty tasty and a bit out-of-the-box.  I didn’t really know what to expect from it, especially because it called for “eye of round steak” which I’d never had before.  But I knew it was going to be good because it has BACON in it for goodness sake.  Anything with bacon has to be good.  So though I was a bit unsure how this dish with the strange cut of meat would turn out, I trusted in the saving grace of bacon.

Well, we ended up really liking this recipe.  The sauce especially is REALLY good.  Blake and I don’t care too much for mushrooms, but we actually enjoyed them in this yummy red wine sauce.  It just had so much flavor!  I even enjoyed the sauce seeping into my mashed potatoes like a gravy.  It was delish!  And of course the bacon was good…I mean duh.  And about this “eye of round steak” that I’d never heard of…it was ok.  It’s definitely a tougher cut of meat than other steaks.  If I make this again, I’d probably use a different type of steak.  A boneless strip or tenderloin steak would probably be good.  In fact, this meal would definitely get kicked up a couple notches on the fancy meter with a tenderloin steak in this really awesome sauce.  It’d make a simple but elegant dinner for a date night!

**Update:  On October 10th, 2012 this recipe was featured in the Huffington Post!  Click here to see the article!

Bacon Wrapped Steak with Red Wine Mushroom Gravy

Source:  emeals.com

Serves: 4

Ingredients:
4 (1-inch-thick) eye of round steaks
4 slices bacon
2 T vegetable oil
1 t salt, divided
1 t pepper, divided
1–8 oz pkg sliced fresh mushrooms
2 c red wine
4 T butter

Directions:
Wrap steaks in bacon.  Sprinkle steaks with 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper.

In a large skillet, heat vegetable oil over medium-high heat. Add steaks, and cook 4 to 6 minutes per side, or until steaks reach desired degree of doneness. Remove, and keep warm.

Add mushrooms to pan drippings, and cook 5 to 6 minutes, or until mushrooms are tender.

Add wine, and cook until reduced by half. Whisk in butter, remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper. Serve sauce over steaks.

9 thoughts on “Bacon Wrapped Steak with Red Wine Mushroom Gravy

  1. Pingback: Normal Cooking is in the Huffington Post! « normalcooking

Leave a comment