Chicken Piccata

I made this dish having no idea what “piccata” meant.  So I decided to look it up, and here’s what wikipedia has to say, “Piccata is a method of preparing food:  meat is sliced, coated, sauteed, and served in sauce.”  Oh!  Now you know a little bit about what you’re signing up for when you make something “piccata.”  It’s not one of those meals that’s ridiculously easy and quick, but it’s still very do-able and not too difficult.

The sauce on this chicken is really good.  My advice to you, though, is to taste test as you cook.  I followed the recipe and then did a taste test and it was a bit too lemony for me so I added more white wine.  Then it tasted perfect!  It was also really good served over pasta because the noodles really absorbed the sauce.

Chicken Piccata

Printer Friendly Version

Source:  The Devil’s Punchbowl

Serves: 2

Ingredients:
2 Chicken Breasts
½ Cup Flour
¼ Cup White Wine (or chicken broth OR both)
½ Lemon, Squeezed
1 TBSP Capers
3 TBSP Butter
Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper

Directions:
Butterfly or pound your chicken breasts so they are flat.

Combine Flour, salt, and pepper.  Dredge chicken in flour mixture.

Melt 1 tablespoon of butter with a splash of olive oil in a pan on medium heat and cook chicken until done.

Remove chicken from pan. Melt remaining butter, add lemon, white wine (or chicken broth or both) and a pinch of flour. Scraping the bottom and sides of the pan, stir until desired thickness.

Add capers and chicken, simmer for 5 minutes.

13 thoughts on “Chicken Piccata

  1. Hi Lindsay! I LOVE Chicken Piccata and this is a great version. I am so glad you included the capers, because without them it is just Lemon Chicken. Great blog – love your recipes!

  2. Sounds very easy to make. One of my favorite recipe combinations is lemon and capers, so I know I am going to love this. Also nice to see a “new” recipe for chicken. Will be trying it this weekend.

Leave a comment