Broccoli and Rice Casserole

 

 

 

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!  And yes, I know that Thanksgiving was yesterday, but who says you can’t celebrate an extra day?  Especially when good food is involved?  Yesterday we celebrated with my husband’s family and today we are celebrating with my family.  More food!!

For my husband’s family Thanksgiving, the hostess requested that I bring a vegetable casserole.  I was more than happy to oblige because it just so happens that one of my FAVORITE FOODS EVER is this broccoli and rice casserole that my mom makes every Thanksgiving.  I’ve mentioned this particular casserole a couple times before when describing other delicious broccoli/cheese foods.  However, nothing comes close to this amazing casserole.  When I got married, my grandmother got all of my family’s hand-written recipes and compiled them in a cookbook for me (which is awesome and the best gift ever).  My mom (thankfully) put the recipe for this casserole that she knows I’m addicted to.

And by the way, I just want to give you a fair warning…finding the frozen chopped broccoli is surprisingly difficult.  Store mostly carry “broccoli cuts” or “broccoli florets” but the chopped is hard to come by.  My mom has tried using the other stuff and says that it’s not a good substitute.  My dear, sweet husband went to SEVEN different grocery stores in search of the stuff.  That shows you how dedicated he is to making me happy…and how much this casserole makes me happy. 🙂

This stuff is easy to make and heavy on the cheese…just how I like it.  It’s always devoured at Thanksgiving, and the only disappointing thing is that there’s not enough left over to put in our little foil plates that we take home from the party.

Broccoli and Rice Casserole

Source: Mom

Servings: about 12

Ingredients:
1 (10 oz.) pkg frozen chopped broccoli, thawed
1 stick margarine or butter
1 cup cooked white rice
1 small jar cheez whiz
1 can cream of mushroom soup

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Saute broccoli and margarine.  Stir in cheez whiz until melted. Then add soup and rice.

Pour into a casserole dish and bake for 30 minutes.

 

9 thoughts on “Broccoli and Rice Casserole

  1. I make something similar for the crock pot….and it also gets devoured at our family get togethers so much so that I’ve had to triple my recipe just so everyone can have seconds or thirds!

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thank you, I lost my recipe I had had for years. The only difference is the one I had used a small onion that was sauteed in the butter. Thanks again

  3. please have a printable version for your recipes. My computer prints the entire 1-3 pages of your comments also. Which uses a lot of copy paper. thanks.

Leave a comment