Garlicky Baked Shrimp

Today’s recipe is a simple, yet scrumptious method of preparing shrimp.  It’s a great weeknight meal because it only takes about 5 minutes to prepare and then 15 minutes to cook.  The panko crumb coating on the top of the shrimp gives a perfect crunchiness to this dish.  It’s almost like you get the crispy texture of breaded shrimp without all the work.  The garlic and the white wine add so much flavor!

With only a handful of very common ingredients, this recipe is great for staying on a budget.  Now I personally (due to my tight grocery budget) purchased frozen shrimp.  Let me just say that frozen shrimp works just fine.  If “just fine” is good enough for you, and you need to stay on a budget, then by golly go buy you some frozen shrimp!  But if you don’t mind spending a little extra or you’re really looking for a higher quality seafood taste, then the fresh is certainly the better route.  To me, the frozen shrimp just has a bit of a rubbery chewiness to it, BUT the taste is still good, and the price is even better.  So I usually go with frozen unless it’s for a special occasion or guests or something.

I’ll also tell you one of my pet peeves about shrimp.  Whenever I order it at a restaurant, whether it’s in a seafood pasta or grilled or skewered or however it’s served, they leave the tails on….Why?!  No one eats the tails.  I don’t like cutting the tails off because there’s good meat in there that’s going to waste!  And with an animal as small as shrimp, you seriously shouldn’t waste any of its meat.  I also hate pulling the tails off because then my fingers get all greasy or covered in sauce or whatever is on the shrimp.  I wish chefs would just take the tails off before they serve it!  UGH!  First world problems…

Garlicky Baked Shrimp

Printer Friendly Version

Source:  Gimme Some Oven

Serves: 3

Ingredients:
1 lb. raw shrimp, deveined and peeled (I pull the tails off beforehand too)
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp. white wine
salt and pepper
1/4 cup (4 Tbsp.) melted butter
1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs
2 Tbsp. fresh Italian-leaf parsley, chopped
half of a lemon (optional)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

In a bowl, combine the shrimp, garlic, and white wine.  Stir to combine, then pour into a baking dish.  Spread out evenly, and then season with salt and pepper.

In another bowl, use a fork to mix melted butter, Panko, and parsley until well combined.  With your fingers, sprinkle the mixture evenly in the baking dish over the shrimp.

Transfer dish to oven and bake until the shrimp are pink and opaque, about 15-18 minutes.

173 thoughts on “Garlicky Baked Shrimp

  1. Found this on Pinterest! Made it tonight for dinner and it was great!! I’m lucky enough to be able to get fresh gulf shrimp and I’m always looking for new ways to cook them. Anything with garlic in the title and you’ve got me already! I used the rice vinegar and it did fine. I ran out of the panko mix about halfway through, so I had to make up more. Other than that, it was a hit!!

  2. Pingback: 50 Meal Ideas to Change Things Up A Bit In Your Kitchen » Dianne Jago

  3. I am going to make this week. I would also like to make that pasta you show in the 2nd picture – can you tell me recipe for the pasta?

    • Haha sure you can! It’s called Suddenly Salad pasta salad mix…from a box. Easy right? They have lots of different kinds but I think this one is tomato pesto or something like that. In my grocery store, it’s in the salad dressing aisle.

  4. Pingback: Meal Plan: 1/21-1/26 | For The Sake of Cake

  5. I am going to make this tonight, I was thinking of adding Capers to the shrimp, what do you think? the wine butter and garlic made me think of chicken piccata which I love! LOL

    • I think capers would be great in this! They definitely compliment the wine, garlic, and shrimp. I also like that it would add a little more color to the dish. If you try it, let us know how it is!

    • Thanks Phyllis! I’ve recently heard the same thing about the tails adding flavor. Maybe that’s true, but it’d have to be a noticeable difference for me to put up with them in my food! Maybe I should do a taste test and see how much better the tails-on version tastes.

  6. I just made this and its very tasty… I opted out on the wine but I did add parmesan to the bread crumbs to make it like red lobster parmesan encrusted shrimp during the endless shrimp deal.. really good I will make on a regular basis.. thanks

  7. Pingback: Meal Plan: 2/11-2/16 | For The Sake of Cake

  8. Pingback: WIAW – Week 40 | For The Sake of Cake

  9. I too and peeved at having to get my fingers messy due to removing the tails. Sometimes I ask to have the cook do it and they act like they don’t understand why. Lol

    I’m anxious to try this for my next Bunko night!

  10. Pingback: Garlicky Baked Shrimp | Cayenne and Company

  11. Tried this recipe tonight and my husband just said it is now on his top favorite meals! Easy, delicious and quick meal. I added Parmesan to the breading mix.

  12. We live very close to New Orleans, so fresh shrimp always wins out! The reasons for the tail being left on is because it makes it easier to just pick the shrimp up and eat it all in one bite. Just pinch the tail a bit until you feel the shell crack, and give the main part of the shrimp a slight tug with your teeth. It takes a bit of practice to do it right, but you end up getting the tender tail meat when you have been able to master the trick. Bon Appitite from the Bayou Country, Chere’!

    • Cindy, I’m certainly jealous of your fresh Bayou shrimp! I don’t mind pinching off the tails when they’re served boiled just plain or by themselves. But when they’re served in pasta sauce or in a salad I just don’t like having to put my fingers in my food to pull off the tails! Alas, that sweet shrimp meat is worth it, though.

    • I have used dried parsley once before. I didn’t actually measure it out but just kinda shook the parsley flakes on there until it looked like a good amount of green on top 🙂 Hope that helps!

  13. I couldn’t really tell…but do you thaw the shrimp before you mix it/cook it? I don’t cook with shrimp often so I was curious

  14. I bought frozen raw shrimp to make this one day next week. Do you thaw the shrimp before hand or do you keep it frozen?

  15. Made this tonight with my husband and daughter. We loved it! It was easy and we all enjoyed cooking together. Can anyone tell me the calorie content?

  16. Pingback: Tasty Tuesday | MomRunsHalf

  17. This was so delicious!! I got the recipe from Pinterest & needed something in a flash. Doubled the recipe.. Used dried parsley instead of fresh & also added about a cup or so of shredded cheddar cheese to the top of the bake. It came out so fantastic…can’t believe how many compliments I got!! I will most definitely be making this again! 🙂

  18. Made this two nights ago – a real hit. Had enough left to reheat and use for an appetizer last night. Heres what I changed: Added two Tablespoons of olive oil to the wine (to which I added 1/4 C, lemon juice) and let the shrimp marinate for an hour with 1/2 the parsley and garlic. Added more parsley to the bread crumbs. Added the capers and topped all with parmesean reggiano. What a great recipe!

  19. Pingback: Meal Plan: Week of 4/8 | For The Sake of Cake

  20. I found this recipe via Pinterest. I used Italian Bread crumbs instead of Panko. It still turned out to be crunchy and delicious! Thanks for a tasty dinner!

  21. My family loved it, but we thought the garlic was a bit strong and we are garlic lovers. I think it is probably because I used cooked shrimp. I baked the recipe about 15 minutes and I don’t think the garlic had time to cook. Next time I will either cut the garlic in half or saute it first in the butter. Great, easy recipe! thanks.

    • I used the minced garlic from a jar, and it is great! It tastes just like fresh garlic (not the dried stuff), but is already minced and pre-cooked. You could try that as well!

    • Ummm I really am not sure! The only ingredient that is highly caloric is the butter, which of course you could reduce slightly or use margarine to cut back on the calories. If anybody else has counted the calories for this, it’d be great if you could share!

  22. I served this when we had guests and every single person LOVED it. My husband hasn’t stopped asking me to please make it again. I didn’t have panko on hand so I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs. Thanks!

  23. Pingback: Easy Panko Shrimp | feedingyou

  24. made this for the first (and not last ) time tonight. it was outstanding! used 3/4 pound of shrimp for the two of us, and had a few left (my lunch tomorrow). used all of the topping ingredients. served with roasted asparagus and ciabatta rolls. husband kept saying how good it was. a keeper.

  25. This is classic Shrimp de Jonghe which is made with sherry rather than white wine. In the 1950’s we baked and served it in shells. Check it on Wikipedia for the history with the Chicago de Jonghe hotel. Delicious and so simple by any name.

  26. I made this while visiting my sister in Boston and we all loved it. Now back home in St. Louis and am making it again for Father’s Day, thanks for a fantastic recipe!!

  27. I made this tonight and it was fabulous. I’m a directions-follower and that’s what I did! I used dried parsley instead of fresh because that’s what I had. If you love shrimp scampi, then you will love this. It’s true- it was so easy. And I’m the one whose Southern Living 30-minutes meals never take less than an hour. I used brand new Panko crumbs (I think that makes a difference) and larger tail-on shrimp. I paired it with rice because I thought it would need it- but it turns out the garlic/butter/crumb mixture is so rich, a crisp salad would have been more complementary. My kids loved it and I’m already scheming when I can make it again. Next time with friends and wine!

Leave a comment