Southwest London Broil

Yesterday on my post about Skillet Corn Salad, I promised to tell you what I served with it as the main course.  Well ta’da!  Here it is!  Southwest London Broil, one of the easiest recipes you’ll find.  I think it only took me about 30 minutes to make, from getting all the ingredients out to serving it up on the plate.

Now when I first looked at the ingredient list, I got a little nervous about the potential spiciness of this dish.  I don’t mind a touch of spicy (like blackened fish or something), but if it’s just burning my lips and making me drink a gallon of liquid to quell the heat, well then that’s just not a very enjoyable eating experience to me.  Some people do enjoy that (which I don’t understand at all), but not me.  Anyways, I was afraid of this dish just being really spicy, and it turns out that it was not at all.  The brown sugar and Worcestershire really tone it down and just make it have a nice, flavorful blend of spices.  I will say one negative thing though, and that is the seasoning doesn’t penetrate into the meat very well.  The outer parts are really well seasoned, but then the inside of the meat doesn’t really have much to it.

And this dish comes with a bonus:  it’s a weight watchers meal.  So between the health factor and the ease factor, this is a great family weeknight meal.

Southwest London Broil

Source:  emeals

Serves: 4

Ingredients:
1 ½ Tbsp packed brown sugar
1 ½ Tbsp chili powder
2 ¼ tsp ground cumin
1 ½ tsp garlic powder
1 ½ tsp cider vinegar
1 tsp Worcestershire,
¼ tsp cayenne pepper)
1 lb London broil steak

Direction:
Combine the first seven ingredients; rub over steak.

Cook on a preheated & sprayed outdoor grill over med heat OR broil 4 inches from heat for 6-8 min. until done. Let rest 10 min before slicing.

Leave a comment